Deadlands and Convention Gaming!

Image

 

So this last weekend was spent with around 25 to 30 hours of gaming over two days at Mace West 2014. The convention was held right here in Asheville on March 21-23 and was amazing. I met some amazing players and some really good GMs there, which was awesome as well. I took a few things from the convention, along with the “Con Crud” that strikes most con goers. 

The first thing that I took away from the convention is that you should find a good face to face group. I do most of my gaming these days on VTT(that’s virtual table top for you non-gamers). I have some great friends in these groups, but I miss the the interaction of sitting around the table with people. We had laughs, sighs, ohhs and ahhs along with gasp at what was said and done by the PCs. In one game we laughed till we cried, literally. One of the players was even pounding the table with his fist while laughing. It made me miss a good f2f group.

The second thing that I took away was the sheer amount of fun that role-playing contains. The groups at each table were gelling together even though many of the players didn’t know each other. They were, should I dare say it, having fun. It destroyed the illusion that some people hold (that is a whole other post). Walking among my fellow gamers showed me that the hobby is really about fun, not about anything else. 

Last I noticed that games are only as good as the players and GM make them so. Take our Deadlands game on Saturday night. That game would have been a train wreck (no pun intended) if the GM had been bad or the players had been poor. Instead we had a session that was so good that I requested the GM send me the adventure that he ran so I could run it for my own group of players. Yes, it was that amazing! Good games require good and prepared GMs and players, period.

I love going to conventions and enjoy meeting new players and GMs. I played four different games in the span of two days and loved each one. I played 7th Sea, Star Wars: Edge of the Empire, Dungeon Crawl Classics and finally Deadlands: Reloaded. None of them disappointed. My advice to you, dear reader, is to go to a con, enjoy the festivities and most of all HAVE FUN!

Leave a Reply

