Licensed Role-Playing vs the Rest

pwU-tabletop-gaming

 

Licensed RPGs are amazing. They have a wealth of information behind them, and it shows. I was always a sucker for D6 Star Wars (loved it way more than the bastard child that was d20). Now I am into FFG Star Wars, a lot. So what makes a licensed RPG so much fun for me? I think it is the depth. There is more information available for them. Look at Star Wars. There is 21 years of EU materials plus the movies to draw from. This makes coming up with stories that much easier. You don’t have to make up timelines or enemies. They are already there. 

That being said, what is good about a non-licensed RPG? Sometimes the wonder in role-playing is in creating a story from whole cloth. Making up the enemies, world history and timelines can be fun. I still love good games of games like generic D&D or Fantasy HERO. 

Is one better than the other? Not really. It matters if you can have fun with them. Some people aren’t imaginative enough to create whole worlds. Others can’t stand using others materials in their games. In the end it comes down to what you like. I prefer licensed, only because I prefer to be able to draw on a wealth of information. 

What do you prefer? Licensed or not? What makes a good licensed RPG in your opinion? Remember, please avoid edition wars here.

2 thoughts on “Licensed Role-Playing vs the Rest

  1. Even within the same company, an edition change can change or erase their established meta storylines. Take White Wolf’s old World of Darkness versus its new one: People will certainly have their preferences in how the in game histories go, and one is not necessarily better than the other. However, with that being said, oWoD had an actual meta storyline progression in the background, whereas nWoD emphasized its lack of one to better allow groups to use items from it like a toolbox.

    My preference was for the old Vampire the Masquerade stories, even if we never touched on the meta events. I kept them at the back of my mind while our tales went on. Usually, any greater connection would only be apparent after the fact, while I was jotting down notes from the previous session, making footnotes asking if there would be any ripple effect in either direction from their actions.

    Tldr, even if I’m ignoring the meta storylines, I still want them to be there.

  2. One of the things I love about gaming in licensed settings is the chance to do it right – if, for example, I want a prequel where there’s an Obi-Wan/Padme/Anakin love triangle, I can do it. I’m not bound by any kind of series bible, and I get to mash up and jam on pop culture themes.

Leave a Reply

